Nancy Flake Johnson | President and CEO

With a passion and reputation for leadership in community and economic development, Nancy Flake Johnson returned to Atlanta in 2008 to become president/CEO of the Urban League of Greater Atlanta. Well-known across the country for her commitment and innovative approaches to education and advancing the black community through economic empowerment and urban development, Nancy quickly built partnerships in the public and private sectors throughout the metropolitan region to drive the Urban League’s impact on youth, adults and families through its initiatives and programs.

Nancy has developed and steered her committed and qualified team at the Urban League to create successful programs that meet people where they are and guide them toward financial and economic empowerment. Program platforms benefit job seekers across the spectrum –unemployed and underemployed youth and young adults, professionals, former inmates re-entering society after incarceration, first-time homebuyers, and entrepreneurs, homeless or underemployed adults. In partnership with businesses and other nonprofit organizations, she has increased the League’s impact on housing, education, career focused training, business development and job opportunities in underrepresented communities.

She serves on several boards and committees including the City of Atlanta Workforce Development Board, Co-Chair of the National Urban League Jobs Task Force, Every Student Succeeds Act Coalition, the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) Atlanta Transit Expansion Advisory Committee and the Georgia Education Equity Coalition. Her advocacy for civil, education and economic rights has earned her numerous awards and honors: the Atlanta Business League selected her as one of the Most Influential Women of Atlanta for four consecutive years; the Howard University School of Business Distinguished Alumni Award in 2015 and in 2013, she was honored as a “Woman of Excellence” by the Atlanta Daily World Newspaper.

Nancy earned her Bachelor of Business Administration degree with a concentration in Accounting from Howard University in Washington, D.C., and received a Master of Science in Taxation from DePaul University in Chicago. Before joining the leadership of the Urban League in Detroit in 2006, Nancy operated the Howard University Small Business Development Center in the University’s School of Business where she inaugurated innovative programs that elevated attention to diverse entrepreneurs and business leaders around the nation.


Our Locations

View ULGA location addresses, phone numbers and business hours.

ULGA Headquarters

Peachtree Center – International Tower
230 Peachtree St, NE – Suite 2600
Atlanta, GA. 30303


Business hours are:

  • Monday – Friday: 8:30AM – 5:30PM

Board of Directors

Last First Department
Banks Mr. Lyle Vice-President and General Manager
Cole Ms. Stacey Gov’t & Community Affairs, Central Div.
Comcast Cable
Crumpler Mr. Carlester Senior Vice President
Specialized Industries
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Dawson Mr. Mark Vice-President Information Services
Cox Enterprises
Ferguson Ms. Beverly Senior Director, Community Affairs
Floyd Ms. Veronica Retired UPS Director of Finance
George Mr. Darril President
ULGA Guild
Griffin Mr. DeWayne Executive Staff Director
State Farm Insurance Company
Hall Ms. Juliet President
Juliet Hall, Inc
Hill Mr. Marvin Vice President of Transportation
D. Horst Mr. Jeffrey Attorney & Partner
Krevolin & Horst, LLC
Hulsey Mr. G. Scott Principal
Kobre & Kim LLP
Lloyd Ms. Tracey JC Penney
Maggs Mr. Jeff Managing Director
McHugh Mr. Larry Mentor
ATDC Georgia Tech
Stewart-Miller Ms. Tesula Senior Vice-President
Ameris Bank
Ward-Millner Ms. Charmaine Director of Corporate Relations
Georgia Power Company
Reeves Ms. Myra Senior Manager
Diversity and Inclusion
The Home Depot
Roberson Ms. Tai Vice-President
Senior Community Development officer
Wells Fargo Bank
Smith Ms. Tracee Community and Economic
Development Manager
Fifth Third Bank
Taylor Atty. Marc Partner
Taylor English Duma LLP
Twum Mr. Michael President
ULGA Young Professionals
Wasson Ms. Felicia Director
Community and Stakeholder Relations
The Coca-Cola Company

Urban League of
Greater Atlanta

Our Sponsors

Make An Impact Today

Scroll to Top