Connect with our Programs and Staff

During the Coronavirus crisis the Urban League is continuing to deliver all of its programs and services to serve you.

Our Team is here to support you to achieve your goals. Based on your current program enrollment or based on your needs if you are new to the League, please review the program list below and contact one of our Team members who will be pleased to support you:

image-from-rawpixel

Financial Opportunity Center (FOC)

image-from-rawpixel-id-1204988-jpeg-2

Workforce, Education and Training Programs

o   Atlanta Housing: Pathways to Empowerment
Supports clients of Atlanta Housing to earn a GED or post-secondary credentials, explore careers, build career readiness skills, access occupational training in high demand fields, secure employment, gain money management skills, credit counseling and supportive services.

  • Leah Pulliam, Empowerment Advocate lpulliam@ulgatl.org 404-840-6295
  • Tamara Roulhac, Career & Employment Specialist – troulhac@ulgatl.org 404-709-7331
  • Breana Curry, Financial Coach – bcurry@ulgatl.org 404-840-6207
o   New Beginnings: Adult Reentry & Transitional Services Supports returning citizens to gain access to high demand occupational skills credentials, career readiness skills, employment, gain money management skills, credit counseling and supportive services.
  • Sam Fair, Program Manager – sfair@ulgatl.org 404-99-9933
  • Ashley Thompson, Sr. Empowerment Advocate athompson@ulgatl.org 404-809-5478
  • Sheena Smith, Empowerment Advocate ssmith@ulgatl.org 470-207-1636

TechHire
Supports individuals to gain access to IT credentials and employment.

  • John Moye, Business Development Manager jmoye@ulgatl.org 404-809-5476

Computer Internet Essentials
Offers computer skills training courses from introduction to computers to Microsoft Programs training. Eligible participants also have access to free internet services from Comcast for the next 60 days. Please contact:

  • Stacey Chapman, Instructor – schapman@ulgatl.org 404-618-4209
Young African American couple embrace outside their house

Homeownership & Wealth Building

  • Johnette Brown, Director jbrown@ulgatl.org 404-903-0372
First-Time Homebuyer Workshops Workshop for prospective homebuyers to learn the home purchase process from a variety of experts including mortgage lenders, realtors, inspectors, credit counselors, closing attorneys, insurance providers and more.
  • Debb West – dwest@ulgatl.org 404-659-2616

o   Atlanta Housing Five Star Tenant Program
This financial literacy training and coaching program supports Atlanta Housing residents by Atlanta Housing referral only to gain money management skills, create a household budget, access credit counseling, debt reduction and savings plans and more.

  • Johnette Brown, Director -jbrown@ulgatl.org 404-903-0372

Pre-Purchase & Foreclosure Intervention Counseling
Offers computer skills training courses from introduction to computers to Microsoft Programs training. Eligible participants also have access to free internet services from Comcast for the next 60 days. Please contact:

  • Tony Jean-Louis tjean-louis@ulgatl.org 404-659-6591

• Pre-Purchase Counseling – supports prospective homebuyers to prepare for purchase including household budgeting, debt reduction, savings plans, credit counseling and more.

• Foreclosure Intervention – are you struggling to make your mortgage payment or facing foreclosure due to lost employment, changes in income, illness or other circumstances, we can help.

image-from-rawpixel-id-591007-jpeg

The Entrepreneurship Center

Supports aspiring entrepreneurs and business owners to launch and grow a small business enterprise through training and coaching resources.

  • Marc Parham mparham@ulgatl.org 404-659-6593

Start Up Accelerator 
6 week program that meets weekly on Tuesday evenings and covers the fundamentals of starting and launching a small business. Program offers classroom instruction by small business experts and entrepreneurs and access to one to one coaching to support the development of a business plan and growth of your business.

  • For enrollment and coaching contact: Debb West, Program Administrator dwest@ulgatl.org 404-659-2616

Strategic Growth Accelerator 
8 week program that meets weekly on Thursday evenings and covers advanced topics to support the growth and expansion of an existing small business. Program offers classroom instruction by experienced small business experts and entrepreneurs, access to one to one coaching to support the development of a business plan and growth of your business.

  • For enrollment and coaching contact: Debb West, Program Administrator dwest@ulgatl.org 404-659-2616

o   DeKalb Microenterprise Program
ULGA operates the Start Up Accelerator and Strategic Growth Accelerator for DeKalb County based businesses and entrepreneurs.

  • Erica Bracey, Project Manager ebracey@ulgatl.org 470-765-8575

DeKalb Microenterprise Program
Offers the Start-Up Accelerator in Spanish for DeKalb County based entrepreneurs and small businesses.

  • Start Up Accelerator En Español Adolfo Prieto aprieto@ulgatl.org

City of Atlanta Microenterprise Program
ULGA operates the Start Up Accelerator and Strategic Growth Accelerator for City of Atlanta based microenterprises and entrepreneurs.

  • Debb West, Program Administrator dwest@ulgatl.org 404-659-2616
shutterstock_4974791.00_00_26_21427.Still012-r

Youth & Young Adult Programs

The ULGA Youth & Young Adult Services Division supports high school youth and out of school older youth to tap into their talents and achieve their highest potential.

  • Chanetha Murphy-Vaughn, Director – cvaughn@ulgatl.org 404-931-8337
• Project Ready: A College and Career Access Program for High School Students Project Ready is an in-school college and career readiness program that operates at Booker T. Washington High School and Benjamin E. Mays High School that supports students to graduate on time ready for college, careers and life. College is broadly defined and includes all available options based on the student’s career goals. The program offers academic enrichment, career exploration, college and career readiness, an individual education and career plan, college tours and community service.
  • Shenika Cowart, Program Manager scowart@ulgatl.org 404-449-7808

• Urban Youth Empowerment Program @ Promise Westside
UYEP @ Promise Westside supports 16 – 24 year olds who live on the City of Atlanta’s Westside, to earn a GED, explore high demand careers, gain life and career readiness skills, employment and community service. The @ Promise Center is a collaboration with the Atlanta Police Foundation, Chris 180, Boys and Girls Clubs, Raising Expectations and Big Brothers Big Sisters.

  • Ebony White, Program Manager ewhite@ulgatl.org 404-449-6286
• YouthBuild YouthBuild supports out of school 16-24 year olds to earn a GED and/or a Construction Worker Certification (for those with a high school diploma) and to gain hands on work experience, life and career readiness skills.
  • Ayana Domingo-Hanse, Program Manager – adomingo-hanse@ulgatl.org 404-956-9822

• Young Fathers Program 
The Young Fathers Program supports 18-24 year old fathers with connections to the justice system, to gain parenting and career readiness skills, coaching, career exploration, connections to occupational skills training in high demand fields and supportive services.

  • Aaron Johnson, Career and Employment Specialist ajohnson@ulgatl.org (404) 931-6937
Front view of attentive young African american businessman in a business seminar in office building

Civic Engagement and Advocacy

The ULGA Youth & Young Adult Services Division supports high school youth and out of school older youth to tap into their talents and achieve their highest potential.

  • John Moye, Director – Policy & Legislative Affairs jmoye@ulgatl.org 404-809-5476
  • Patrice Barlow, Education Advocate educationequity@ulgatl.org 202-294-7100

Civic Engagement – John Moye
Voter registration, voter education and community forums on topics that impact African American and low income communities.

Education Equity – Patrice Barlow
Parent Advocacy training, collaboration with minority and civil rights education advocacy, hosting of Education Equity Day at the Capitol and other activities that advocate for a quality and equitable education for African American and all students.

Scroll to Top
X
X